GRANOLA

Ah, granola. What a good snack. Takes me back to the good old days of high school when Dorothy (check her out! http://flavoradventures.com/) would call me crunchy. Now here I am, making granola. And having absolutely no qualms about it.

Right now, I’m at a transitional point in my life, and it’s nice to have some things to depend on. For me, that’s good food—and having the opportunity to make some things out of the ordinary. I’d never made granola before this year, only had my mom’s delicious homemade variety and perhaps a million bagged varieties. Happily, homemade goodness is not only healthier than processed foods, but also cheaper. So for a girl who’s about to be unemployed for a month, I’m all about saving money on snacks. Granola is an excellent answer: nothing is cheaper than oats!

Image

I now know what I like in my granola – walnuts, currants, sunflower seeds – and with that, I’ve used a basic recipe to get a good idea of the granola process. I used this one (http://www.mynewroots.org/site/2011/12/simple-gourmet-granola-mnr-healthy-holiday-gift-guide-2/), on the food blog My New Roots. It’s a wonderful site if you need any kind of plant food inspiration; plus, it always makes me feel really beautiful inside just from reading about the beautiful food she produces.

I’ve now made this granola a couple times, and have adapted it to my discerning tastebuds! Feel free to switch it to match yours. Thanks to Joanna for the granola feedback and inspiration to blog about my recipe.

HASH BROWN’S GRANOLA

2 cups rolled oats
¼ cup sunflower seeds
½ cup walnuts, broken into pieces
½ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ teaspoon cardamom
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons coconut oil
2 tablespoons agave
½ cup dried currants

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mix oats, sunflower seeds, walnuts, cinnamon, cardamom and salt in a bowl.
  3. Melt coconut oil in whatever way you can*, and then quickly mix in the agave. Pour oil and agave mixture over the dry ingredients and mix well.
  4. Spread the mixture onto a cookie sheet, and be sure to make an even layer. It doesn’t need to be too spread out; otherwise there is a risk of nuts burning. Oh no!
  5. Bake granola for 20-25 minutes, giving it a stir every 5 minutes to make it all golden and crunchy. If you forget to stir, your nuts might burn! The oats should turn a shade darker, as should the nuts. There is a quick tipping point where granola can go from delicious to dark, dark brown and burnt, so be vigilant!
  6. Mix in the currants after you have taken the granola out of the oven, and enjoy!

*If you don’t have a microwave like me, I often melt solids in a glass measuring cup while the oven is preheating.

Image
Before!

Image
After!

 

That’s it! This recipe is very substitutable (wow, that’s a word?!), so go at it with what you’ve got!

One thought on “GRANOLA

  1. Am making this now–and have almonds, sunflower seeds and hazelnuts in there and will add the currants after–! Delicious.

Leave a Reply

